The ASA Presidential Scholar Award recognizes colleagues who dedicate their formative careers to research.

The recipient of the Third Annual Presidential Scholar Award was Zhiyi Zuo, M.D., Ph.D., who received his award and delivered the Presidential Scholar Award lecture at the ASA Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia, on Monday, October 24, 2005, following the Emery A. Rovenstine Memorial Lecture. Dr. Zuo is an Associate Professor in the Departments of Anesthesiology, Neuroscience, and Neurological Surgery at the University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia.

The deadline for nominations for the 2007 Presidential Scholar Award is March 31, 2007. Anesthesiologists who are within seven years of their first appointment to a department of anesthesiology, who are board-certified, and who spend at least two days per week in clinical practice are eligible for the award. Candidates should be nominated by their department chair, who should submit each nominee’s curriculum vitae and copies of three exemplary articles (published or in press). Full guidelines for nominations are available from the ASA Executive Office, 520 N. Northwest Highway, Park Ridge, IL 60068-2573 or e-mail