The individual’s work must represent a body of original, mature, and sustained contribution to the advancement of the science of anesthesiology. The nominee need not be a physician, an anesthesiologist, or a member of ASA, but must be presently engaged in research related to anesthesiology.

The 2006 award was presented to Nicholas P. Franks at the ASA Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois, immediately preceding the Emery A. Rovenstine Memorial Lecture on Monday, October 16, 2006. Dr. Franks is a Professor in the Biophysics Section, Blackett Laboratory, Imperial College, London, England.

The deadline for nominations for the 2007 Award for Excellence in Research is March 31, 2007. Guidelines for nominations are available from the ASA Executive Office, 520 N. Northwest Highway, Park Ridge, IL 60068-2573 or e-mail