The annual American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Award for Excellence in Research recognizes an individual for outstanding achievement in research that has or is likely to have an important impact on the practice of anesthesiology.

The individual’s work must represent a body of original, mature, and sustained contribution to the advancement of the science of anesthesiology. The nominee need not be a physician, an anesthesiologist, or a member of the ASA, but must be presently engaged in research related to anesthesiology, academically accomplished with peer-reviewed publications and funded research, and nominated in response to call for nominations. The completed application must include the nominee’s current curriculum vitae, a letter of nomination, and a seconding letter from two individuals with an understanding of the research contributions of the individual.

The 2008 Excellence in Research Award was presented to Zeljko J. Bosnjak, Ph.D., at the ASA Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida, on Monday, October 20, 2008. Dr. Bosnjak is Professor and Vice Chairman of Research, Department of Anesthesiology, and Professor of Physiology, Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

The deadline for nominations for the 2009 Excellence in Research Award is March 31, 2009. Please submit nominations or any questions regarding this award to George H. Kendall, Managing Editor, Anesthesiology, Department of Anesthesiology, Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Medical Center Boulevard, Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27157, or e-mail