The annual American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Award for Excellence in Research recognizes an individual for outstanding achievement in research that has or is likely to have an important impact on the practice of anesthesiology.

The individual's work must represent a body of original, mature, and sustained contribution to the advancement of the science of anesthesiology. The nominee need not be a physician, an anesthesiologist, or a member of the ASA, but must be presently engaged in research related to anesthesiology, academically accomplished with peer-reviewed publications and funded research, and nominated in response to a call for nominations. The completed application must include the nominee's current curriculum vitae, a letter of nomination, and a seconding letter from two individuals with an understanding of the research contributions of the individual.

The 2011 Award for Excellence in Research was presented to Evan D. Kharasch, M.D., Ph.D., at the ASA Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois, on Monday, October 17, 2011. Dr. Kharasch is Professor and Director at the Department of Anesthesiology, Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, Missouri.

The deadline for nominations for the 2012 Excellence in Research Award is March 31, 2012. Please submit nominations or any questions regarding this award to George H. Kendall, Managing Editor, ANESTHESIOLOGY, Department of Anesthesiology, Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Medical Center Boulevard, Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27157; e-mail: