On the last weekend of April, the Illinois State Medical Society (ISMS) swore in William A. McDade, M.D., Ph.D., as its president, while the Michigan State Medical Society (MSMS) passed its presidency to James D. Grant, M.D., who took the reins from another physician anesthesiologist, Kenneth Elmassian, D.O.

Dr. McDade is the Deputy Provost for Research and Minority Issues and an Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesia and Critical Care at the University of Chicago. He also is a director with the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education and is chair-elect for the American Medical Association’s (AMA’s) Council on Medical Education. He also is an ASA delegate to the AMA House of Delegates. In 2012, he was named the Chicago Medical Society’s “Physician of the Year.”

“I plan to use my year to encourage my colleagues to think carefully about their roles as leaders in medical education and to identify ways...

You do not currently have access to this content.