Evan D. Kharasch, M.D., Ph.D., Chair, ASA Committee on Research, has announced that the committee will award prizes for the following two entries in the 2015 ASA Residents’ Research Essay Contest:

Gene T. Yocum, M.D., Columbia University, New York, New York, for “Selective Pharmacologic Targeting of the GABA-A Receptor α4 Subunit in Airway Smooth Muscle to Alleviate Bronchoconstriction.”

Seyed A. Safavynia, M.D., Ph.D., Emory University, Atlanta, for “The Effects of GABAA Receptor Modulation by Flumazenil on Emergence From General Anesthesia.”

Winners receive a plaque and cash award to acknowledge their achievements. The first-place winner will present a five-minute presentation during the Celebration of Research on Monday, October 26, at the San Diego Convention Center, as well as each individual presentation scheduled during the ANESTHESIOLOGY®2015 annual meeting.

You do not currently have access to this content.