George S. Bause, M.D., M.P.H., was named the 2016 Wood Library-Museum of Anesthesiology (WLM) Laureate of the History of Anesthesia on Sunday, October 25, 2015. Formal investiture will occur at ANESTHESIOLOGY® 2016 in Chicago, immediately before Dr. Bause delivers his second Lewis H. Wright Memorial Lecture.

The Laureate of the History of Anesthesia program was founded by Dr. Nicholas M. Greene to increase recognition of the richness and importance of the history of the specialty by recognizing the work of scholars who have made singular contributions to the field. The honor is awarded every four years by the WLM Laureate Committee to an individual who has a demonstrable record of contributing over the years outstanding, original materials related to the history of our specialty as reflected by articles published in peer-reviewed journals and/or monographs.

The first Laureate of the History of Anesthesia, in 1996, was Dr. Gwenifer Wilson of...

You do not currently have access to this content.