Mary Dale Peterson, MD, MSHCA, FACHE, FASA, 2020 ASA President, called to order the opening session of the 73rd meeting of the ASA House of Delegates (HOD) via a virtual platform at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, October 2, 2020, with a properly credentialed quorum.

The proceedings of the HOD were prefaced by words of invocation, this year provided by the Very Reverend Pete Elizardo from the Catholic Diocese of Corpus Christi. During her opening remarks, Dr. Peterson recognized the many honored guests present representing anesthesiology and medical societies from across the world.

Richard T. Connis, PhD, was recognized as the 2019 recipient of the ASA Honorary Member Award. Additionally, it was noted that the 2019 Distinguished Service Award was being presented to Patricia A. Kapur, MD, prior to the Rovenstine Memorial Lecture. The winners of the 2020 Resident Research Essay Awards were acknowledged. The 2020 recipient of the Excellence in...

You do not currently have access to this content.